Rewards and Margaritas..not necessarily in that order

Ah stress….the number one enemy this past week and especially these last two days. The feeling of pains in my chest and a headache that feels as though my blood pressure has reached its capacity. I have a very demanding job, which oddly enough I love. I meet many people and then there are those that you would love to hit over their head with a baseball back and yell “What the hell are you thinking!” I tried the all might mantra of OMs to calm me, laying down in my bed, eyes closed and trying to imagine myself lying on a beach in the Caribbean all alone and taking in just the sounds of the waves. Nothing worked people I mean nothing. The bottle of wine was calling my name last night to just have a glass and calm down..I was good. The problem was I could not get to sleep and kept tossing and turning all night which sucked because I had a 5:00 am run today with my group. How do we pull ourselves out of stress mode? Rewards people. Lets take race day. We are so over the training and now have completed the race. Walking back..if you call it that..for us it is more of the “Hunchback of Notre Dame” cat walk..Gisele watchout…we attempt to shower in our pain, get dressed in pain again and inch by inch shuffle of weary feet either to our friendly Disney Shuttle or drive if possible to our long ago phoned in reservations. My favorite reward after a race is a tall margarita and nachos. Here is a fabulous picture for your viewing pleasure. Salivating is optional:                 This delectable feast was provided by the Hard Rock Cafe in Orlando. Thank you very much! Disney is also the place we reward ourselves prior to our race. The one place we always eat at and when I say always I am talking about breakfast and dinner the whole weekend is my all time favorite BOMA at the Animal Kingdom Lodge.

Why do we always have to wait until we get to the end result? We should have fun along the way and really enjoy it and not feel guilty. We deserve it. Having put in so many miles, suffering with chafing, shin splints and knee problems,  we as runners, have suffered enough. So drink and eat and definitely be merry. Run away from your stress and toward your dreams. Have fun and play. As Peter Pan would do and say don’t grow up. Kids we are in Disney!!

Happy Running 🙂

Please help out with my fundraiser for a chance to win an amazing jogging stroller and iPad2 from Crowdrise when you donate $28

http://www.crowdrise.com/TeamVH1SaveTheMusicNYCMarathon/fundraiser/DawnMoraites

~ by RunningJunkies on September 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
